A Comprehensive Guide to Customer Churn and Identifying High-Risk Customers

No business wants to lose its customers. In fact, several businesses allocate just as much effort toward maintaining their customers as to acquiring new ones. However, building customer loyalty is not a simple task. There comes a point in time when a customer simply stops doing business with you.

What happens then? Do you go out and find new customers? Do you try to analyze what could have gone wrong during their customer experience or buyer journey?

It’s important to understand customer churn and how it can affect business health. Let’s examine the top reasons for customer churn and what you can do to better understand high-risk customers. We’ll also explore several strategies you can employ to reduce this dreaded churn.


A Comprehensive Guide to Customer Churn:


什么是流失,对您的业务有何影响?

客户流失或客户流失是一个指标,可衡量在给定时间段内停止与您开展业务的客户率。这是可以阻止您的因素之一business从扩展。

Customer loss isn’t just about losing sales and revenue. It brings with it a number of other repercussions that may potentially harm your business. You may lose sources of valuable feedback and insight, which are crucial for improvement. Yourcustomer lifetime value也可能只遭受一次损失。

这就是为什么企业要查看客户流失并了解导致它的原因至关重要的原因。检查客户流失受到许多企业的恐惧。但是,评估它可让您了解企业的​​健康和客户保留绩效。


Identifying Churn to Improve Customer Retention

It’s costly to acquire new clientele. In fact, it’sfive times more expensive to acquire new customersthan retaining your current ones. Not only is customer retention a more cost-effective strategy, but it has the potential to bring in more revenue. Even a small increase in customer retention can significantly raise your profit. That’s because returning customers tend to spend more, and they’re more likely to refer your business to their peers.

The bottom line is, losing customers can end up being costly for your business. Knowing what your current churn rate determines where your business currently stands. It also helps you find ways to reduce churn rate and come up with measures to sustain or increase customer retention rates instead.

Calculating Churn Rate

To calculate churn rate, divide the number of customers you lost within a given period by the total number of customers you originally had during that same period. Multiply the result by 100 to get the percentage. You’ll have something that looks like this:

Source:snov.io

(Number of customers lost within a time period ÷ original number of customers during the same period) x 100 = Churn Rate

For example, you’re calculating churn rate for one quarter. During this period, you had 1000 customers. However, you lost 250 customers because of poor customer experience and relatively expensive prices. Your churn rate would be:

250 ÷ 1000 = 0.25

0.25 x 100 = 25%

该公式是适应性的,具体取决于最适合您的方法。您还可以将计算基于丢失的经常性业务价值或百分比。

计算特定时期的客户总数可能具有挑战性。您还将面临确定when生产实际发生。当发生吗a customer cancels? Or do you have to wait for them to end their subscription or patronage before you can consider that they’ve churned? You’ll also have to consider multiple customer segments, each of which can have different churn rates.

A “good” churn rate is somewhere between2% to 8%。较高的流失率可以:

⚙️对您的底线或净收入产生负面影响

⚙️防止您的成长

⚙️Point to problems in company health


What Causes Customer Churn?

Now, we get to the heart of the problem: what causes customers to stop purchasing your products or using your services? Below are some of the common causes of customer churn:

Customer service

Bad customer service is one of the most common causes of customer churn. If a customer has a bad experience with your business, it’s likely that they’ll stop buying your products or paying for your services. Businesses lose an estimated每年750亿美元由于客户服务不佳。

为什么?客户倾向于记住不好的经历,而不是做好的经历。此外,差的客户体验会导致负面评论,这些评论在您的网站或其他评论网站和在线目录中可见。潜在的买家希望进行评论以做出明智的决定。遇到对您的业务的不良评价可能会阻止他们与您开展业务。

Furthermore, there’s no denying that there’s a lot of competition out there. With the wealth of choices that cosnsumers now have, it’s easy for them to find alternatives to what you’re offering. It’s highly likely that the customers you lost will end up switching over to your competitors.

Service rate or product price

你们的价格是否可以是一个决定因素or not a customer will do business with you. Chances are, if they find something more cost-effective, they might end up opting for that product or service instead.

Poor user experience

A sub-par product or a service that has technical issues can drive away customers. No one wants to have a product that breaks down after a short while or something that’s difficult to use and requires a steep learning curve. If what you're offering delivers poor user experience, your customers might start to look for alternatives that would serve them better.


How to Spot High-Risk Customers

To prevent customer churn, you need to identify high-risk customers. They’re the ones who are at the brink of abandoning your business. Once you’re aware of who your at-risk customers are, you can create strategies for improving your relationship with them.

Source:omnisend.com

So, how do you spot high-risk customers? This is where leveraging data can help you get valuable insights.


Examine your online community

When was the last time you checked your online community? It’s a valuable resource that can help you see if customers have lodged indirect complaints or have shown their dissatisfaction with your product or service.

检查愤怒的评论和基本问题。后者意味着客户可能尚不熟悉产品。将其视为教育或指导他们并为他们创造更积极的入职经验的机会。


Check your support ticket data

A support ticket refers to the interaction that a customer has with a customer service representative. Having a low number of tickets may indicate that your customers aren’t engaged or have yet to use your product. Meanwhile, a high number indicates that you’re dealing with high-risk customers. This implies that they may be dissatisfied or are having a hard time with your product or service.


Check for any negative reviews or feedback

负面评论和投诉,无论是直接还是间接,都明显表明客户不高兴,这使他们处于危险之中。这可能是您与他们联系并解决他们对您的产品或服务可能遇到的任何问题的机会。


合同修改

以折扣或更改其订阅合同的形式要求修改您的报价,可能被视为客户流失的风险因素。在这一点上,他们很有可能正在考虑其他提供商。与他们交谈,找出他们为什么要折扣或为什么要修改合同的原因。同样,您可以将其视为一个机会,可以教育客户有关您的产品及其带来的价值。


Track your website activity

您的客户的网站活动可以表明他们有搅动的风险。您需要注意的是,这些活动表明他们想停用或取消其订阅。如果您发现不活动的客户,这意味着他们没有参与。与他们联系,询问他们是否对您的产品有问题。

Once you’ve determined common customer pain points, discuss them with your team and come up with a solution to prevent your customers from churning.

Simply put, high-risk customers are those who have had a bad experience with or are unhappy or unenthusiastic about what you’re offering. They’ve yet to see the value of your product or how it can potentially address their pain points. They may also be the ones trying to reach out to you but were made to feel like their opinions don’t count.


3 Things You Can Do to Understand High-Risk Customers

It can be challenging to prevent your high-risk customers from abandoning your business, but by trying to understand customers who have churned, you can create a richer experience for your current and future customers.

Find out what happens after a customer leaves

A customer who has left is still a valuable source of data. Check to see if there’s a trend among customers who left. Did they leave because a competitor has better prices? Were they looking for other options? Often, the data can help you determine the areas you need to work on to improve customer retention rates.

Determine what the ideal buyer journey is

Knowing what your customer’s idealbuyer’s journeyis can help you determine at which point they deviated from it. Find ways to engage them at various points of their journey. By keeping them engaged throughout, you’re reducing the risk of them leaving you for the competition.

Get feedback from customers who churned

When a customer leaves, don’t be afraid to ask them for feedback. Find out why they decided to leave and who they’re currently doing business with. Yes, this can be a painful process, but their feedback can help you identify problem areas, which you can address by making improvements.


减少流失的6种方法

Yes, churn is a pressing issue that businesses constantly face but there are ways to reduce it. One way to prevent it is by determining and targeting who your high-risk customers are. Here are some of the steps you can take to tackle churn:

Find out why churn happens in the first place

The best way to analyze churn is to identify the reason why your client stopped buying your product or service. Talk to your customer and ask them why they left. While you can conduct exit surveys, opting to go for an actual conversion helps you get to the heart of the matter faster.

保持客户参与

Being proactive in engaging with your customers is one of the best ways to prevent churn. Give them value-adding content across multiple channels that highlight the features or benefits of your product. Offer discounts or start a newsletter from which they can find regular product or service updates. Maintain their interest and curiosity. Give them a reason to keep coming back.

Find ways to educate your customers

客户离开的最常见原因之一是因为他们不知道如何使用您的产品或看不到其价值。以此为机会教育您的客户,使他们能够看到您的产品的全部潜力以及如何使他们受益。有很多方法可以教育您的客户。您可以分享教程,演示或培训。这里的关键是使这些材料易于使用。

Reach out to your customers

Be proactive in communicating with your clients. Engage them as soon as they show interest, and don’t wait until an issue crops up before you reach out to them. Give them multiple avenues for giving their honest feedback and make it easy for them to reach you. Make them feel that they’re seen and heard.

Incentivize

提供激励措施可以鼓励客户留下来。无论您是提供促销,折扣还是奖励计划,激励措施都可以帮助您与您重视他们的客户交流。

进行搅拌的实时分析

不要等到为时已晚,直到分析流失。什么时候为时已晚?这是您等待客户在做任何事情之前离开的时候。分析流失的最佳时间是在发生之前,因此您可以提前计划并采取必要的措施来防止客户离开。


最后的想法

客户流失发生在每个企业中。它可能使人衰弱,并严重影响您的业务增长。但是,可以降低您的流失率。

The key here is to leverage data, which includes knowing what your churn rate is and identifying who your at-risk customers are. By actively engaging your customers, educating them about your product and its value, and understanding their behavior, you can craft a strategy that lets you build better relationships with them.

Frequently Asked Questions

我还需要知道其他流失率吗?

是的,年度流失率和每月流失率。前者是指企业在一年中损失的客户率。后者是您当月的流失率。

我如何跟踪流失率?

You can use a spreadsheet or a third-party software to track your churn rate.

What is customer attrition?

Customer attrition is just another term for customer churn.

What’s the best way to identify customer churn?

您能做的最好的事情之一就是确定您认为算是什么。当客户结束订阅时,会发生流失,还是当他们不返回重复购买时会发生?确定对流失的定义是什么,您可以创建指标来识别和针对高风险客户。

What role does customer onboarding play in reducing churn?

The customer onboarding experience is crucial to retaining your customers. Keep in mind that not all customers know how to use your product at the get go. A customer who has trouble adopting your product is likely to lose interest and this could cause them to churn. Make the transition easier for them by having a streamlined and personalized onboarding process that lets you communicate your product’s value to them.

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